Tuition and fees are subject to change.
Tuition and Fees for Residents of the State of Alabama
Resident or in-state tuition is $136.00 per credit hour.
Tuition and Fees for Non-Residents of the State of Alabama
Non-resident or out-of-state tuition is $253.00 per credit hour.
2016-17 Tuition and Fee Schedule
An additional fee is due for student accident insurance and campus access.
A $25.00 late fee will be charged to students registering on or after the first day of class during the published drop/add period of the term.
FEES MUST BE PAID IN FULL BEFORE REGISTRATION IS CONSIDERED COMPLETE. Students who pay tuition using Prepaid Affordable College Tuition Program (PACT), Vocational Rehabilitation Services, VISA, MasterCard, or any third party entity are responsible for verification that payment has been received by the Cashier’s Office. SHELTON STATE DOES NOT GIVE CASH REFUNDS. Refund checks are mailed from the Office of Business Services. Students who request refunds for complete withdrawals on or after the first scheduled day listed on the college calendar for that term will be charged a 5% administrative fee, up to $100.
Shelton State Community College does not accept partial payments. This includes students receiving any type of financial assistance. Balances remaining after grant/waiver/scholarship is applied to the student’s account must be paid in full on or prior to the payment due date. Sponsored students include those students whose expenses are paid by agencies such as Vocational Rehabilitation Services, Alabama G.I. and Dependents Educational Benefits Act, Post 9/11 G.I. Bill® (excluding veterans who receive benefits only from Federal Veterans Administration), and eligible Pell Grant recipients. Students who intend to pay their tuition using Prepaid Affordable College Tuition Program (PACT) or any third party entity are responsible for paying fees not covered.
For the purpose of assessing tuition, applicants for admission will be classified in one of three categories.
- Resident Student
- A resident student will be charged the in-state tuition rate established by the Alabama Community College System.
- A resident student is an applicant for admission who meets all legal requirements or is a duly registered resident in the state of Alabama for at least twelve (12) months immediately preceding application for admission, or whose non-estranged spouse has resided and had habitation, home, and permanent abode in the state of Alabama for at least twelve (12) months immediately preceding application for admission. Consequently, an out-of-state student cannot attain resident student status simply by attending school for twelve (12) months in the state of Alabama.
- In the case of minor dependents seeking admission, the parents, parent, or legal guardian of such minor dependent must have resided in the state of Alabama for at least twelve (12) months preceding application for admission. If the parents are divorced, residence will be determined by the residency of the parent to whom the court has granted custody.
- Minor: An individual who, because of age, lacks the capacity to contract under Alabama law. Under current law, this means a single individual under nineteen (19) years of age and a married individual under eighteen (18) years of age, but excludes an individual whose disabilities of non-age have been removed by a court of competent jurisdiction for a reason other than establishing a legal residence in Alabama. If current law changes, this definition shall change accordingly.
- Supporting Person: Either or both of the parents of the student, parents who are living together, or if the parents are divorced or living separately, then either the parent having legal custody or, if different, the parent providing the greater amount of financial support. If both parents are deceased or if neither have legal custody, supporting person will mean, in the following order: the legal custodian of the student, the guardian, and the conservator.
- In determining resident student status for the purpose of charging tuition, the burden of proof lies with the applicant for admission.
- Students having graduated from an Alabama high school or having obtained a GED in the state of Alabama within three (3) years of the date of application for admission shall be considered resident students for tuition purposes.
- An individual claiming to be a resident will certify by a signed statement each of the following:
- a specific address or location within the state of Alabama as his or her residence;
- an intent to remain at this address indefinitely; and
- possession of more substantial connections to the state of Alabama than with any other state.
- Though certifications of an address and an intent to remain in the state indefinitely will be prerequisites to establishing status as a resident, ultimate determination of that status will be made by the institution by evaluating the presence or absence of connection with the state of Alabama. This evaluation will include the consideration of the following connections:
- consideration of the location of high school graduation;
- payment of Alabama state income taxes as a resident;
- ownership of a residence or other real property in the state and payment of state ad valorem taxes on the residence or property;
- full-time employment in the state;
- residence in the state of spouse, parents, or children;
- previous periods of residency in the state continuing for one (1) year or more;
- voter registration and voting in the state; more significantly, continuing voter registration in the state that initially occurred at least one year prior to the initial registration of the student in Alabama at a public institution of higher education;
- possession of state or local licenses to do business or practice a profession in the state;
- ownership of personal property in the state, payment of state taxes on the property, and possession of state license plates;
- continuous physical presence in the state for a purpose other than attending school, except for temporary absences for travel, military service, and temporary employment;
- membership in religious, professional, business, civic, or social organizations in the state;
- auxiliary services in the state of checking and savings accounts, safe deposit boxes, or investment accounts; and
- in-state address shown on selective service registration, drivers’ license, automobile title registration, hunting and fishing licenses, insurance policies, stock and bond registrations, last will and testament, annuities, or retirement plans.
- Students determined to be eligible for resident tuition will maintain that eligibility upon re-enrollment within one (1) full academic year of their most recent previous enrollment unless there is evidence the student subsequently has abandoned resident status, for example: registering to vote in another state. Students failing to re-enroll within one (1) full academic year must establish eligibility upon re-enrollment.
- Non-Resident Student
- A non-resident student is one who does not meet the standard of having resided in the state of Alabama for at least twelve (12) months immediately preceding application for admission.
- A non-resident student will be charged the in-state tuition rate established by the Alabama Community College System under the following circumstances, provided such student is a citizen of the United States.
- The dependent student is one:
- whose supporting person is a full-time permanent employee of the institution at which the student is registering; or
- whose supporting person can verify full-time permanent employment in Alabama and will commence said employment within ninety (90) days of registration; or
- whose supporting person is a member of the United States military on full-time active duty stationed in Alabama under order for duties other than attending school; or
- whose supporting person is an accredited member of a consular staff assigned to duties in Alabama.
- The student is not a dependent (as defined by Internal Revenue Codes) who:
- is a full-time permanent employee of the institution at which the student is registering or is the spouse of such an employee; or
- can verify full-time permanent employment within the state of Alabama or is the spouse of such an employee and will commence said employment within ninety (90) days of registration with the institution; or
- is a member of or the spouse of a member of the United States military on full-time active duty stationed in Alabama under orders for duties other than attending school; or
- is an accredited member of, or the spouse of, an accredited member of a consular staff assigned to duties in Alabama.
- In determining non-resident student status for the purpose of charging tuition, the burden of proof lies with the applicant for admission. The College may request proof the applicant meets the stipulations noted above prior to admission.
- The student is eligible for in-state tuition if the student resides in Lowndes and Noxubee Counties in Mississippi.
- Out-of-State Student
- Any applicant for admission who does not fall into Section II (Non-Resident Student) above shall be charged a minimum tuition of two (2) times the resident tuition rate charged by that institution.
- Students initially classified as ineligible for resident tuition will retain that classification for tuition purposes until documentation is provided verifying eligibility for resident tuition.
Residency Policy for Veterans, Dependents, and Spouses
For the purpose of assessing tuition, students who are veterans, dependents, and spouses will receive in-state tuition rates if classified as one of the following:
- The student is a member or spouse of a member of the United States military on full-time active duty stationed in Alabama under orders other than attending school.
- Commencing on May 22, 2012, the student has been a member of the Alabama National Guard for a period of at least two years immediately preceding qualification for resident tuition and continues to be a member of the Alabama National guard while enrolled at the public institution of higher education.
- The student is a veteran of the Armed Forces of the United States, provided that the veteran has become a resident of Alabama and satisfies at least one of the following conditions:
- The veteran has served on active duty for a continuous period of time, not less than two (2) years, and has received an honorable discharge as verified by a United States Department of Defense Form 214 within five (5) years of enrolling at an Alabama public institution of higher education.
- The veteran is currently serving in a reserve component of the Armed Forces of the United States, as verified by a memorandum from the commanding officer of the veteran student.
- The veteran has been assigned a service-connected disability by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.
- The student is an out-of-state veteran who resides within ninety (90) miles of a campus located in Alabama and has enrolled at an institution whose board of trustees has voted to allow nonresident in-state tuition for active and retired military.
- The student is, at the time of registration, a minor whose supporting person is a member of the United States Military on full-time active duty stationed in Alabama under orders for duties other than attending school.
Choice Act Section 702
The Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act of 2014 (the “Choice Act”) was passed by the United States Congress and signed into law by the President of the United States in 2014. The Choice Act “requires the United States Department of Veterans Affairs to disapprove programs of education for payment of benefits under the Post-9/11 GI Bill® and Montgomery GYI Bill - Active Duty at public institutions of higher learning if the institutions charge qualifying veterans and dependents tuition and fees in excess of the rate for resident students for terms beginning after July 1, 2015.”
For the purpose of the Choice Act, a covered individual is one of the following:
- A veteran receiving Montgomery and Post-9/11 GI Bill® educational assistance and enrolling within three (3) years of discharge after serving ninety days or more on active duty
- An individual using transferred entitlement within three (3) years of discharge after serving ninety (90) days or more on active duty
- A surviving spouse or child under the Fry Scholarship who enrolls within three (3) years of an active duty service member’s death in the line of duty after serving ninety (90) days or more
- An individual remaining continuously enrolled after meeting initial requirements and using Chapter 30 or 33
- A campus access fee of $6.00 per term is required.
- All students are required to purchase a student accident insurance policy each semester. The charge is $7.50 per term for the fall and spring semesters and $5.00 for the summer semester. These rates are subject to change.
- Cash, checks, money orders, cashier’s check, Discover, Visa, American Express, and MasterCard will be accepted as payment of all fees and charges, subject to final payment. If a student’s check is returned unpaid, payment must be cleared promptly by another form of payment other than personal check. A restriction will be placed on the student account until the returned item and fees are paid in full. If the account balance is not cleared prior to the start date of the semester, the student’s schedule will be removed. The returned check service fee charge will be based on the current rate set by the District Attorney’s Office. Checks will no longer be an allowable form of payment for anyone accumulating their second returned check.
- An administrative fee not to exceed five percent (5%) of tuition and other institutional charges, or $100, whichever is smaller, will be assessed for each complete withdrawal within the period beginning the first day of class and ending at the end of the third week of class.
- Some courses may require additional fees.
NOTE: The cost of auditing a course is identical to the cost of enrolling in a course for credit.
Tuition/Fee Refund Policy
- The Shelton State tuition refund policy is based on the College calendar. The calculation of the refund begins with the first day of class as listed on the College calendar for that particular term. In order to receive a 100% refund for complete withdrawal from school, students must withdraw BEFORE THE FIRST SCHEDULED DAY LISTED ON THE COLLEGE CALENDAR FOR THAT TERM. The first day of class is the first official instructional day of all classes, as stated in the institution’s published calendar. There is only one first day.
- All terms within the semester, full term, first split term, and second split term are treated independently for refund purposes. Once the drop/add period has ended for the respective term, partial refunds will only be granted for a complete withdrawal from the college.
- Full Term Enrollment
A student who withdraws from the College may claim a partial refund under certain conditions:
- A student who completely withdraws before the beginning of the term receives a 100% refund.
- A student who completely withdraws within the first seven calendar days receives a 75% refund.
- A student who completely withdraws during the eighth through fourteenth calendar days receives a 50% refund.
- A student who completely withdraws during the fifteenth through twenty-first calendar days receives a 25% refund.
- A student who completely withdraws after the twenty-first calendar day will receive NO REFUND.
- Split Term Enrollment
A student who withdraws from the College may claim a partial refund under certain conditions:
- A student who completely withdraws before the beginning of the term receives a 100% refund.
- A student who completely withdraws within the first three calendar days receives a 75% refund.
- A student who completely withdraws during the fourth through sixth calendar days receives a 50 % refund.
- A student who completely withdraws during the seventh through ninth calendar days receives a 25 % refund.
- A student who completely withdraws after the ninth calendar day will receive NO REFUND.
- The Drop/Add period is a period after the official designated registration days for full term classes during the fall and spring semesters.Students who drop a course (or courses) and have other courses remaining for that term on their schedules may receive 100 percent refund if the course is dropped during the designated Drop/Add for that specific term.
- SHELTON STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE DOES NOT GIVE CASH REFUNDS. Refund checks are mailed from the Office of Business Services. All credit or debit card payments will be refunded to the original card that was charged.
- Only the following tuition and fees can be refunded: tuition, facility renewal fees, technology fees, and bond surety fees. Other miscellaneous fees will not be refunded. A list of refund dates and refund percentages is printed in the Registration Guide.
In order for Shelton State Community College to properly process each financial aid application, deadlines are required for each term. Students who do not meet the deadline will have a delay in the financial aid process. Please contact the Enrollment Services Office or visit the Shelton State website, www.sheltonstate.edu, for specific information and required deadlines. Shelton State Community College offers financial assistance to eligible students to help pay educational costs. Financial aid is designed to supplement a family’s ability to finance a student’s educational expenses. Shelton State is approved for Federal Financial Aid, Veterans Benefits, Vocational Rehabilitation Training, and Alabama Prepaid Affordable College Tuition (PACT). The institution also awards state and private scholarships.
Title IV Federal Financial Aid programs which are available include Federal Pell Grant, Federal Work-Study (FWS), and the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG). Shelton State is also approved to participate in the Alabama Student Assistant Program (ASAP). Shelton State Community College does not participate in any federal student loan programs. Shelton State is approved for deferment of previous loans.
Applying For Financial Aid
Students applying for financial aid must:
- apply for admission and have on file a copy of the high school transcript, GED scores, and academic transcripts from all other colleges previously attended. Transient students are not eligible to receive financial aid.
- be a U.S. Citizen or an eligible non-citizen. All eligible non-citizens must provide documentation to verify their eligibility status.
- be a regular student working towards a degree or certificate in an eligible program at SSCC. A regular student is someone who is enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible institution for the purpose of obtaining a degree or certificate offered by the College.
- meet the standards of academic progress (qualitative and quantitative).
- be registered with the Selective Service if a male student 18-25 years of age. Visit www.sss.gov to register.
Qualifying For Federal Financial Aid
Students applying for Federal Financial Aid must:
- create an FSA ID number at www.fafsa.gov. If student is a dependent student, the student’s parent will need to create an FSA ID number. The FSA ID number is required to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
- complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) online at www.fafsa.gov. This should be done as soon as students or parents of dependent students complete their federal income tax return each year. Applicants may be required to submit signed copies of certain financial documents for the student and/or spouse and parent(s). Required documents will be listed in the student’s myShelton account. Approximately one-third of all financial aid applications are selected by the federal government in a process called verification.
- exhibit financial need. Financial need is determined by subtracting the expected family contribution from the cost of education.
- have a high school diploma or a GED.
- enroll as a student in an eligible program and make satisfactory academic progress. Technical classes/certificates may require clock hour conversions to receive Title IV funds. Financial aid will be paid on the lowest hours. Some programs may not be approved for financial aid. If a student is enrolled in a technical/certificate program that does not offer a degree, credit hours will be adjusted based on a federally mandated credit/clock hour conversion formula.
- Check the website for the most current information or contact Enrollment Services.
- not be in default on any previous student loan.
- submit all official transcripts. Financial aid is awarded after all official transcripts are on file.
Any remaining balance from the financial aid award for the current semester will be issued by check for pick-up in the Martin Campus Cashier’s Office or mailed to the address on file in Enrollment Services. Students who completely withdraw from school prior to the disbursement of funds will have their financial aid adjusted based on their withdrawal date. Any remaining funds will be returned to the financial aid program.
Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy
- Program Completion
The maximum time frame allowed to complete a program of study without financial aid penalty cannot exceed 1.5 times the published length of a specific program. For example, a student in General Studies, which is sixty-four (64) semester hours in length, may attempt a maximum of ninety-six (96) hours. The life time limit for Pell grant funding is twelve (12) full-term semesters.
- Required Credit Hours
All students receiving grant funding must maintain the following completion rate requirements based on number of hours attempted.
- If the student has attempted 0 - 21 hours, the student must maintain a 58% completion rate.
- If the student has attempted 22 - 32 hours, the student must maintain a 62% completion rate.
- If the student has attempted 33 or more hours, the student must maintain a 67% completion rate.
- Required Grade Point Average (GPA)
All Students receiving grant funding must also maintain the following GPA requirements based on the number of hours attempted.
- GPA requirements for degree seeking students:
- If the student has attempted 0-21 hours, the student must maintain a 1.5 GPA.
- If the student has attempted 22-32 hours, the student must maintain a 1.75 GPA.
- If the student has attempted 33 or more hours, the student must maintain a 2.0 GPA.
- GPA requirements for short-term certificate students:
- If the student has attempted 12 hours, the student must maintain a 1.5 GPA.
- If the student has attempted 24 hours, the student must maintain a 2.0 GPA.
- Financial Aid Warning
If a student fails to achieve the required cumulative GPA or does not successfully complete the required percentage of hours, the student will be placed on financial aid warning for one semester. Students on warning will be allowed to receive aid one semester while on warning and will be notified of their warning status on their student account. The warning will be lifted in the subsequent term if the student attains the required cumulative GPA and/or successfully completes the required percentage of hours at the next term.
- Financial Aid Suspension
If the student does not meet the minimum standards of progress after their warning semester, the financial aid award will be suspended. The student cannot use federal funding to pay for their courses until they regain eligibility by reaching the minimum standards of progress. The student may gain eligibility for financial aid when satisfactory academic progress is obtained.
- Appeal Process
The student may file an appeal by completing the Financial Aid Appeal process that is outlined on the Shelton State financial aid website. The student must make an appointment to meet with a member of the enrollment services staff to complete the Plan of Resolution and discuss the circumstances of their current financial aid situation. These forms are online at www.sheltonstate.edu. Only ONE (1) APPEAL per student will be allowed. Decisions of the Appeal Committee are final.
- Monitoring Progress
Academic progress will be monitored at the end of each semester, even at the end of a semester during which financial aid has not been received.
- Repeating Courses
A student receiving Pell grant funds may repeat courses one time; however, all hours will be included in the satisfactory academic progress calculations.
- Developmental Courses
A student may receive financial aid for up to thirty (30) attempted developmental credit hours. If this number is exceeded, financial aid cannot cover any additional developmental classes.
- Audit and Continuing Education Courses
Audited and continuing education courses are not considered credits attempted or earned and students cannot receive financial aid for these courses.
- Clearing GPA or Completion Rate Deficiencies/Reinstatement
A student may have financial aid reinstated if he/she attends college at his/her own expense and is able to reach the minimum standards of satisfactory academic progress. It is the student’s responsibility to notify Enrollment Services when his/her grades are in compliance with the policy. Financial aid will not retroactively pay for any periods of enrollment during which the student was not eligible.
- Cumulative Credit Hours Completed
- Cumulative Credit hours completed are defined as grades A, B, C, or D except for developmental courses.
- Credit hours not successfully completed are defined as F, W, I, or U.
NOTE: Refer to Academic Information, Grading System.
- Cumulative Credit Hours Attempted
- Cumulative credit hours attempted are defined as all credit hours attempted at SSCC and all credit hours transferred and accepted from another institution.
- Repeated courses passed, failed, or withdrawn will be counted as credit hours attempted.
- Program of Study
Students who receive financial assistance must be accepted for enrollment as a regular student in a program of study leading to a degree or a certificate. A regular student is someone who is enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible institution for the purpose of obtaining a degree or certificate offered by the College. Courses taken must be required in current program of study. Some programs of study may not be Pell approved. Please refer to the Shelton State website for the most current information.
- Official and Unofficial Withdrawals and Interruptions
A student who withdraws during a payment period or period of enrollment before disbursement is made may have the award adjusted based on assistance earned up to the point of withdrawal. Once the student has completed more than 60% of the payment period or period of enrollment, the student will earn all of the assistance. If the student receives more assistance than earned, the excess funds must be returned.
- Official Withdrawal
A student’s official withdrawal date is defined as the date the student officially withdraws from all classes for that semester.
- Unofficial Withdrawal
A student is considered to have unofficially withdrawn for financial aid purposes only when:
- the student does not complete the official withdrawal process; and
- the student earns failing grades (F or U) in all courses for which he/she is registered.
If the last day of attendance is not defined on any records, the student’s unofficial withdrawal date will be defined as the midpoint (50%) of the semester and the student will, in accordance with the Return to Title IV calculation, owe monies back to the Title IV funds. The federal government has established a Return to Title IV Funds (R2T4) Policy CFR Section 668.22. Federal grant recipients who completely withdraw from the institution prior to completing 60% of the enrollment period are subject to the R2T4 policy and may owe a repayment. The R2T4 calculation will be performed in accordance with federal regulations. The Title IV programs consist of Federal Pell Grant and Federal Supplemental Grant (FSEOG).
According to regulations, Enrollment Services performs the Return to Title IV calculations. When it is determined the student owes a repayment of grants to the U.S. Government, the student will be sent an email notification of this debt and will be ineligible to receive any future Title IV aid until the matter is resolved. If the student owes a balance to the College, the student must pay the balance prior to registering for future semesters or requesting a transcript be sent to another college. The student must contact the Cashier’s Office on any repayment obligation. If the student does not contact the Cashier’s Office with payment, the College will send the student’s information to the U. S. Government for collection and the student will remain ineligible for federal and state aid until the College receives notice that the student has re-established his/her eligibility. The student must present to the College a Title IV letter of eligibility from the Department of Education. It is the intent Enrollment Services to inform Federal Grant recipients who completely withdraw from all courses in a given semester to seriously consider the implications of this R2T4 policy.
- Disbursement of Financial Aid Funds
Students are expected to attend all classes for which they are registered and attendance is calculated from the first official day. Attendance issues may cause a student’s award to be adjusted. Disbursement checks are available for pick up fourteen (14) days after the first day of class. Books and supplies can be charged against Pell grant funding after payment has been credited to the student’s account for tuition and fees. Registration is not complete until tuition and fees have been paid. Title IV Pell grant funds will be awarded based on the student’s expected family contribution (EFC) number and hours attending.
- Students registered for Second Term Classes
Funds for the second term classes will not post to an account until second term attendance is verified and posted by the instructor.
Credit hour breakdown*
||12 or more credit hours
||9 to 11
||6 to 8
||5 and under
||less than half-time
*Students in converted clock hour and clock hour certificate programs must see the website for correct payment information based on their program.
- Change of Program of Study
Change of program of study may require additional courses preventing degree or certificate completion within the 150% of the standard length of the academic or certificate program. Also, when students change a program of study from degree-seeking to certificate-seeking, the previously attempted classes will be counted in the determination of financial aid eligibility. For example, a certificate program requiring twenty-seven (27) credits for completion must be completed within forty-one (41) attempted credit hours.
- Financial Aid Eligibility
Students not achieving satisfactory academic progress (SAP) as measured by Enrollment Services usually have experienced one or a combination of the following:
- receiving failing grades
- repeating courses
- officially or unofficially withdrawing from courses or from the College
- enrolling in courses not applicable to the declared program of study
- Return to Title IV Funds (R2T4)
The federal government has established a Return to Title IV Funds (R2T4) Policy CFR Section 668.22. Federal grant recipients who completely withdraw from the institution prior to completing 60% of the enrollment period are subject to the R2T4 policy and may owe a repayment. The R2T4 calculation will be performed in accordance with federal regulations. For a student who unofficially withdraws and the last date of attendance cannot be determined, the R2T4 calculation will be based on the mid-point of the semester and the recipient may owe a repayment to the Title IV programs. The Title IV programs consist of Federal Pell Grant and Federal Supplemental Grant (FSEOG).
Federal Grant Recipient
A student who receives one or more of the following: Federal Pell Grant, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG), or Federal Work/Study funds.
The withdrawal date is the date the student withdraws from all classes by submitting a completed withdrawal form to Enrollment Services (obtained from the Educational Planning or SOAR Institute). If a student unofficially withdraws (stops attending without completing the withdrawal process), the withdrawal date is the mid-point (50%) of the term if a last date of attendance cannot be determined.
60% of Enrollment Period
The 60% enrollment period is established each semester in the printed semester schedule of classes. Students who withdraw from school before these dates will owe a repayment and will have accumulated attempted course hours. The 60% date is the date in which 60% of the class meetings have been held.
A repayment is what a student must return to the U.S. Department of Education. The amount of repayment will be based upon a formula, prescribed by law, that considers the date of withdrawal and the amount of federal aid (excluding work-study) received. Any student who fails to repay the U.S. Department of Education will not be eligible to receive federal aid at Shelton State Community College or any other institution.
Students have the right to ask Shelton State Community College:
- the name of its accrediting and licensing organizations
- about its programs, its institutional laboratories and other physical facilities, and its faculty
- about the cost of attending and its policy on refunds to students who withdraw
- what financial assistance is available, including information on all federal, state, local, private, and institutional financial aid programs
- about procedures and deadlines for submitting applications for each financial aid program
- about criteria used to select financial aid recipients
- how financial need is determined
- how and when students on financial aid will receive a disbursement
- how satisfactory progress is determined and what happens if not achieved
- about special facilities and services available to persons with disabilities
Students have the responsibility to:
- review all information about College programs prior to enrollment
- know and comply with all deadlines for applying and reapplying for financial aid
- provide all additional documentation, verification, corrections, and/or new information requested by the Shelton State or the agency to which application was made
- read, understand, and keep copies of all signed forms
- repay any student loan obligations and/or request deferment information from the lending agency
- notify Enrollment Services of any change of name, address, course major, or attendance status
- understand the refund policy
- read and comply with SAP
Financial Aid Course Load Requirement
To receive the amount of Federal Pell Grant as indicated on the financial aid award screen, a student must be enrolled for a full-time course load which is a minimum of twelve (12) credit hours each semester (unless the program is converted based on Title IV rules). A student who enrolls for less than twelve (12) credit hours will have his/her Pell grant award adjusted according to registration status. If a student receives Title IV funds and is registered for technical classes requiring clock hour conversion, the Title IV Pell awards will be based on financial aid hours rather than academic hours. Students who have questions regarding the enrollment status or adjusted credit hours should contact Enrollment Services.
Financial Aid Programs
- Pell Grant
The Federal Pell Grant is designed to assist eligible applicants with educational expenses. The Federal Pell Grant does not have to be repaid unless the Return to Title IV applies. The Pell Grant provides a foundation of financial aid to which other federal and non-federal sources of aid may be added. The amount of a Federal Pell Grant is dependent upon a family’s financial circumstances. Students should complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) to apply for a Federal Pell Grant. A Federal Pell Grant is awarded for an academic year (two semesters). The financial aid year begins with the fall semester and ends with the summer semester. Beginning in fall 2012, the FAFSA will review all semesters of Pell payments per student. Students will only be allowed to receive twelve (12) full-time, lifetime semesters of Pell grant funding. For example, if the student attended college and received Pell funding for two (2) full-time semesters in 2010, that student would have ten (10) lifetime semesters remaining. Only the percentage of time that a student is enrolled will count toward this limit. Once classes begin, students must attend class starting the first day or Pell grant funds will be adjusted for non-attendance. For more information about Federal Pell grants, contact Enrollment Services.
- Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
The Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant is designed to assist students with exceptional financial need. Students should complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) to apply for Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG). Must be eligible for Federal Pell grant.
- Alabama Student Assistance Program (ASAP)
The Alabama Student Assistance Program is designed to assist exceptionally needy students. It consists of Federal State Student Incentive Grant funds and funds appropriated by the Alabama Legislature. ASAP funds do not require repayment. Students should complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) to apply. Must be eligible for Federal Pell grant.
- Federal Work-Study
The Federal Work-Study is part-time employment on and off-campus. It allows students to earn a portion of the money needed to finance their education. This program exists to assist in paying the difference between the cost of education and the amount that the student and the parents can afford to pay. Federal Work-Study provides a meaningful job experience while allowing the student the opportunity to earn a portion of his or her educational cost. Students must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and a Shelton State Community College Application for Federal Work-Study. Must be eligible for Federal Pell grant.
Veteran Financial Programs
Alabama National Guard Education Assistance Program
ANGEAP is a program established by the legislature of the state of Alabama and is designed to provide financial assistance to active Alabama National Guard members enrolled in degree programs at accredited post-secondary institutions of higher learning located within the state of Alabama. Limited funding is provided by the Alabama Legislature, and priority is given to those who apply early. For more information about the ANGEAP, members should contact the unit administrator at their prospective unit.
Tuition Assistances (TA)
Tuition assistance (TA) is a Department of Defense (DOD) program. GoArmyEd is the virtual gateway for all eligible Active Duty, National Guard, and Army Reserve soldiers to request tuition assistance (TA) for classroom and distance learning. It allows soldiers to manage their educational records, including college classes, testing, on-duty classes, and Army education counselor support. Prior to a course’s start date, soldiers may request TA through www.GoArmyEd.com. The soldier will be notified concerning TA status. If the TA request is declined, GoArmyEd will advise the soldier of the reason and next steps. All drops/withdrawals must be handled through GoArmyEd. Soldiers who do not successfully complete a class due to military reasons must request a Withdrawal for Military Reasons through GoArmyEd and complete all required steps. Students have until the start of the semester to enter information in the GoArmyEd system for TA approval.
Alabama GI Dependents Scholarship Program
This nationally renowned program was created by Act 633 and approved October 1947 by the Alabama Legislature. It is administered by the Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs and is governed by the Code of Alabama 1975, Section 31-6-1. The veteran must meet the following qualifications to establish eligibility for dependents. A dependent is defined as a child, stepchild, spouse, or the unmarried widow(er) of the veteran.
- The veteran must have honorably served at least ninety (90) or more days of continuous active federal military service or be honorably discharged by reason of service-connected disability after serving less than ninety (90) days of continuous active federal military service during wartime.
- The veteran must be rated 20% or more disabled due to service-connected disabilities or have held the qualifying rating at the time of death, be a former Prisoner of War (POW), have been declared Missing in Action (MIA), died as a result of a service-connected disability, or died while on active military service in the line of duty.
- The veteran must be a permanent civilian resident of the state of Alabama for at least one (1) year immediately prior to one of the following:
- the initial entry into active military service
- any subsequent period of military service in which a break (one year or more) in service occurred and the Alabama civilian residency was established. Permanently service-connected veterans rated at 100% who did not enter service from Alabama may qualify after establishing at least five (5) years of permanent residency in Alabama prior to an application on file or immediately prior to death, if deceased.
For more information about this program, the student should contact the Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs representative at their local county courthouse.
Chapter 31 Vocational Rehabilitation (Disabled Veterans)
A veteran may be eligible for Vocational Rehabilitation (Chapter 31) benefits if he or she
- received, or will receive, a discharge other than dishonorable conditions;
- incurred or aggravated a service-connected disability which entitles him or her to VA disability compensation; and
- is in need of vocational rehabilitation because his or her disability creates an employment handicap
Vocational rehabilitation may be provided for up to forty-eight (48) months. An eligible veteran generally has fifteen (15) years from the date he or she is notified of entitlement to VA compensation to use their Chapter 31 benefits. VA may approve an extension of time and/or length of training in certain cases.
Entitlement for vocational rehabilitation or services is determined on an individual basis following an evaluation of the veteran’s interests, aptitudes, education, work experience, and vocational abilities. Each school is assigned a Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist to assist Chapter 31 students and school officials responsible for certifying Chapter 31 students. Full tuition, fees, and books are paid to the school by the VA. In addition, the student gets a subsistence allowance depending on the training status.
Chapter 30 Montgomery GI Bill® (MGIB) and Active Duty
The Montgomery GI Bill® (Active Duty), also known as Chapter 30, is a program of education benefits generally for individuals who enter active duty for the first time after June 30, 1985 and have contributed to the College fund. Active duty for benefits purposes includes full-time National Guard duty after November 29, 1989. The participant generally must serve continuously on active duty for a three year or greater initial enlistment or for a lesser benefit, two years of an initial active duty obligation of less than three years. An individual also may qualify for the full benefits by initially serving two continuous years on active duty, followed by four years of Selected Reserve Service. In the latter case, the participant must enter the Selected Reserve within one year of the release from active duty. The participant must meet the requirements for a high school diploma or an equivalency certificate before the first period of active duty ends. Completing twelve (12) credit hours toward a college degree meets this requirement. Individuals who initially serve a continuous period of at least three years of active duty, even though they were initially obligated to serve less, will be paid at the higher basic rate. Shelton State Community College does not participate in advance pay.
Chapter 33 Post 9/11
The Post 9/11 GI Bill® is a new education benefit program for individuals who served on active duty on or after September 11, 2001. The benefits are payable for training pursued on or after August 1, 2009. No payments can be made under this program for training pursued before that date. Individuals may receive up to thirty-six months of entitlement under the Post 9/11 GI Bill®. Once receiving benefits under the Post 9/11 GI Bill®, the individual will no longer be eligible to receive benefits under the program selected before the Post 9/11 GI Bill®. A monthly housing allowance (MHA) based on the Basic Allowance for Housing for an E-5 with dependents at the location of the school is associated with this benefit. For BAH rates, please visit www.gibill.va.gov. For those enrolled solely in distance learning, the payable housing allowance is equal to 1/2 the national average BAH for an E-5 with dependents for the 2011 academic year. Active duty students and their spouses cannot receive the MHA. An annual book stipend of $1,000 is paid proportionately based on enrollment.
Chapter 1606 Montgomery GI Bill® Selected Reserves (MGIB-SR)
This program provides benefits for members of the Selected Reserve and National Guard who enlisted, re-enlisted, or extended their enlistment for a period of six years after July 1, 1985. To find out more about eligibility requirements, please contact Veterans Affairs Regional Office (VARO) at 1.888.442.4551.
Chapter 1607 Reserve Educational Assistance Program (REAP)
REAP was established as a part of the Ronald W. Reagan National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2005. It is a Department of Defense educational benefit program designed to provide educational assistance to members of the Reserve components called or ordered to active duty in response to a war or national emergency (contingency operation) as declared by the President or congress. This program makes certain reservists who were activated for at least 90 days after September 11, 2001, either eligible for education benefits or for increased benefits.
Chapter 35 Survivors and Dependents Educational Assistance Program
Dependents Educational Assistance provides education and training opportunities to eligible dependents of certain veterans. This program offers up to forty-five months of educational benefits. These benefits may be used for degree and certificate programs, apprenticeships, and on-the-job training. If you are a spouse, you may take a correspondence course. Remedial, deficiency, and refresher courses may be approved under certain circumstances.
The Military Spouses Center Advancement Account (MYCAA) program sets out to prepare eligible military spouses for the work force by offering up to $4,000 of financial assistance (FA) from the Department of Defense (DOD). This is meant to encourage spouses of military personnel to pursue education, training, licenses, certificates, and degrees leading to employment in portable career fields. The MYCAA program uses this funding to pay schools directly for coursework and exams taken by the approved spouse account owner.
Class Attendance of Veterans
Any student receiving VA educational benefits is required to attend all classes in which they are enrolled. Students who are receiving VA educational benefits and enroll in NCD (Certificate) Programs are required to attend 75% of all courses in that program. Once a student has missed more than 25% of a course(s) in that program, it is required that an adjustment be made to the student’s enrollment certification to the Department of Veterans Affairs to reflect “unsatisfactory” attendance for all courses that apply to the program.
Withdrawals from Class by Veterans
Students receiving VA educational benefits may adjust their schedule during the Drop/Add period. After the Drop/Add period, students must notify the school’s VA Certifying Official before being allowed to withdraw from any course(s).
Shelton State Community College offers competitive full or partial scholarships to qualified students who are residents of the state of Alabama. Scholarship information and applications are available on the Shelton State website, www.sheltonstate.edu. For specific scholarship requirements and deadlines, refer to the specific scholarship information.
Academic scholarships are available for first-time, new, or current Shelton State students. Selections are based on a minimum grade point average of 3.0 with additional consideration given to a student’s activities, honors, and educational goals. An ACT or SAT score is required for high school students applying for academic scholarships.
Ambassador scholarships are awarded on the basis of leadership potential, community service, and commitment to Shelton State. Members are full-time students who attend scheduled meetings and perform scheduled service hours during each semester. Criteria for selection includes leadership and service experience, academic performance, and personal qualities demonstrated through an interview. Ambassador scholarships waive tuition and some fees for one academic year. Students must reapply each academic year for consideration.
Athletic scholarships are awarded on the basis of tryouts and/or a demonstrated ability to compete on the intercollegiate level. The number of scholarships awarded in each sport, along with eligibility requirements, is established by the NJCAA. Scholarships are awarded in baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, women’s fast-pitch softball, and manager positions.
Cheerleading scholarships are available for a co-ed, competition squad and may be granted to new or current SSCC students. Members are chosen at tryouts each spring.
Leadership in Child Care scholarships are available to Alabama residents employed in a legally operating facility caring for pre-school or school-age children. The student must be seeking a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential, certificate, or associate degree. Information and applications for these scholarships are available in the Office of Enrollment Services.
Children of Blind Parents
Children of certain blind parents may be eligible for scholarships at Shelton State. Eligibility for each applicant is determined by the Chancellor of the Alabama Community College System. Further information may be obtained from the Office of Enrollment Services.
Fine arts scholarships are available to students in art, dance, music, and theatre. Awards are based on availability, competition, demonstrated talent, academic record, and educational goals. Art applicants must submit a portfolio; dance, music, and theatre applicants must perform in scheduled auditions at the College.
R.E.A.C.H. (Resources in Education Achieving Change and Hope) scholarships are available to first-time, new, or current Shelton State students. Applicants must have a 2.5 cumulative grade point average. Selections are based on academic performance, educational goals, and student references.
Senior Scholarship Program
The state of Alabama provides a scholarship program allowing senior adults to register for any credit courses offered through the College. Individuals must be at least 60 years of age at the time of enrollment, take each course only one time, be registered for a course only after the class has met minimum enrollment requirements as defined by the College, provide proof of high school graduation or the equivalent, have met the prerequisites for the course, and pay all applicable fees. For additional information, contact the scholarship office located on the 1st floor of the Martin Campus.
Shelton Sophomore Summer Studies
Shelton Sophomore Summer Studies are one-time scholarship opportunities available to Shelton State students in the summer semester. Applicants must have a 3.0 institutional GPA and have successfully completed twenty-four (24) or more credit hours at Shelton State Community College.
Shelton State Community College Foundation
The Shelton State Community College Foundation, a separate entity from the College, provides scholarships based on students’ academic standing, community involvement, special criteria, and/or financial need for students enrolled in instructional programs at the College. Information and applications are provided in the Shelton State Community College Foundation Office, the Shelton State Enrollment Planning office, on the Shelton State website, www.sheltonstate.edu; and in the offices of area high school counselors. For additional information, contact the Shelton State Community College Foundation, 205.391.2298.
Shelton Summer Studies (S3)
Shelton Summer Studies (S3) Scholarships are one-time scholarship opportunities available to high school seniors the summer following their graduation. Applicants must graduate from high school with a diploma, have successfully completed at least one course during high school as a dual enrolled or accelerated high school student, and have a 2.5 cumulative GPA.
Technical scholarships may be awarded to first-time, new, or current SSCC students whose educational goals include the completion of a technical program. Applicants must have a 2.0 cumulative grade point average or GED score equivalent. Additional consideration is given to activities, honors, and a 300 word essay expressing educational goals as related to the applicant’s program of study. Technical scholarships are awarded each semester and do not automatically renew. Students must reapply each semester.
Tour guide scholarships are available to first-time, new, or current SSCC students. Tour guides are selected on the basis of leadership and commitment to Shelton State and selected through an interview process. Candidates must have a 2.5 minimum cumulative grade point average or GED score equivalent. Applicants must have prior leadership experience in high school or college as well as schedule flexibility for evening and weekend events. The tour guide scholarship waives tuition and some fees for one academic year. Students must reapply each academic year for consideration.
GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)